Ashtanga Yoga Method

Ashtanga yoga has been around for thousands of years, but had only been first introduced to the West in 1964 by Sri K. Pattabhi Jois of Mysore, India. Through his teachings, the practice has been widely adopted by persons all over the world, many of which travel to India to learn from the source, which is now Pattabhi Jois’s grandson Sharath Jois, and daughter Saraswathi.

Ashtanga yoga is a beautiful yogic method, which involves synchronizing your breath with a series of postures while having a steady gazing point.  This method purifies and detoxifies the body, builds strength and stamina, regulates digestion, steadies and calms the mind, and improves mobility of the muscles. We like to believe that Ashtanga yoga is a lifestyle practice, which involves patience and dedication.  Just as it takes time patience and practice to learn to climb  a rock wall, it takes time, patience and practice to learn the Ashtanga yoga method.

Here at Climb Cleveland, we will focus on the Primary Series.  The practice starts with Sun Salutations to warm up the body, followed by 42 asanas (postures), then the finishing postures.  

You can view and download parts of the series here broken up into the Sun Salutations, Standing + Seated Postures and Finishing Sequence re-created by Ashtangi Ronald Steiner.

Primary Series Sheets:

Sun Salutations

Primary Series Standing and Seated Positions

Finishing Sequence